Reminder! Submit Your Work in the 2011 Adobe® Design Achievement Awards (Second Deadline Apr. 29).


The second leg of the 2011 Adobe® Design Achievement Awards is in full swing. There are three judging phases of the competition and the semi-finalists from the first judging portion (submission deadline was January 28) have been announced, including design students from all over the world.

The Adobe® Design Achievement Awards celebrate student and faculty achievement reflecting the powerful convergence of technology and the creative arts. The competition – which showcases individual and group projects created with industry-leading Adobe creative software – honors the most talented and promising student graphic designers, photographers, illustrators, animators, digital filmmakers, developers and computer artists from the world’s top institutions of higher education. Categories include:

  • Interactive Media: Browser-Based Design, Non-Browser Based Design, Application Development, Mobile Design, Game Design, Installation Design, Innovation in Interactive Media in Education
  • Video and Motion: Animation, Live Action, Motion Graphics, Innovation in Video and Motion in Education
  • Traditional Media: Illustration, Packaging, Photography, Print Communications, Innovation in Traditional Media in Education

Submission Qualifications: Both individuals and groups may enter up to two unique projects in the following categories during each judging phase. The contest is open to all individuals age 18 years or older who are students, or faculty in an accredited institution of higher education.

There is still time to submit work during the second and third phases of the 2011 contest:

  • Nov. 30, 2010- Jan. 28, 2011 (passed)
  • Jan. 28, 2011- April 29, 2011
  • April 29, 2011- June 24, 2011

Prize Details: Click here to view the full list of prizes for the Adobe® Design Achievement Awards. Win a trip to Taipei and cash! The 2011 Adobe® Design Achievement Awards gives higher education students and faculty from around the world the shortcut to brilliance to propel their careers in the future. Cash prizes will be awarded in Taipei during the Icograda World Congress.

THIS IS A FREE COMPETITION. Visit the Adobe® Design Achievement Awards Website for more information regarding submission requirements.

The Adobe® Design Achievement Awards Website also provides galleries of previous years’ winning projects. Check out some of the examples below:

Student Name: Linna Xu
University: York University/Sheridan College
Category: Packaging for Ilford Film
Work title: Ilford Film





Student Name: Chiharu Tanaka
University: Academy of Art University in San Francisco
Category: Print Communications
Project Description: “MONYO+MOJI” is my MFA thesis project, which involved designing new decorative typefaces that fused Japanese ornamentation with the Roman alphabet. My process involved researching Eastern and Western design principles, aesthetics and traditions and exploring the various ways that these two realms could interact and balance with each other. The “MONYO+MOJI” book showcases the rich variety of Japanese ornamentation and patterns with a new approach to design.





type6Student Name: Napatsawan Chirayukool
University: Kingston University
Category: Animation



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Author: Mani O'Brien

Mani O’Brien is the Online Editor for the FIDMDigitalArts Blog and the Social Media Marketing Manager for FIDM/Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. She earned her bachelor of arts degree in print journalism from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism & Mass Communications at Arizona State University in 2006, and Associate of Arts degree in Graphic Design (Professional Designation) at FIDM in 2010. When she’s not brainstorming social media marketing ideas or writing about the graphic design and digital media, she enjoys practicing yoga, reading magazines, and hanging out with friends and family in Los Angeles.

Share This Post On

Pin It on Pinterest

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([\'_setAccount\', \'UA-17905517-4\']); _gaq.push([\'_trackPageview\']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(\'script\'); ga.type = \'text/javascript\'; ga.async = true; ga.src = (\'https:\' == document.location.protocol ? \'https://\' : \'http://\') + \'\'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(\'script\')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();